top of page
Megan Books.jpg

Megan O'Russell: Author, Actor, Traveler

Megan O'Russell is a young adult author with nineteen published works. Megan began her author journey in traditional publishing. After having her debut novel signed within only one month of submitting, the next five years were a rocky road with five different publishers shuttering and four series being only partially released.


In December 2018, she had sixteen books under contract with two publishers. By the end of January 2019, all contracts had been cancelled as one publisher shut down and the other showed signs of distress she couldn't ignore. 

February 2019 became the start of Megan's 19 books in 19 months journey. Spanning across six series and ranging from epic fantasy to dystopian paranormal, her crash course in indie publishing helped her discover a thriving and successful life as an independent author.

2020 has continued that journey with a deep dive into the audio publishing world with audio now available across three of her series. Narrating one of the series herself has been an epic way to explore combining her author work and actor training. 


Outside of her author life, Megan is a musical theatre actor whose performing work has taken her as far afield as Denali, Alaska, and has kept her sleeping on the floor of tour buses for two National Tours. After deciding she wanted to spend her life onstage at age three, she's been fortunate enough to work consistently as a performer for fourteen years with her husband by her side. 


Megan also has a huge case of wanderlust and a passion for talking travel. Greece, Thailand, Italy, and France are some of her top travel destinations that have inspired settings in her books, both real and fantastic. 


From talking about the indie publishing process and offering tips for writing and editing to sharing the highs and lows of a life in the arts, Megan enjoys passing on the lessons she's learned and having a few laughs along the way.

Contact Megan directly by emailing

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
Megan Orlowski Headshot
Coffee and Books
When Worlds Begin
Ena of Ilbrea and Inker and Crown
Bryant Adams One, Two, and Three
Ember and Stone.jpg

Ena of Ilbrea

Ilbrea: A country mercilessly ruled by the seven Guilds where commoners struggle to survive—no one knows the cost of survival better than illegal healer Ena Ryeland. Ena is offered a life of freedom and a chance to fight the Guilds. But she can’t win the battle alone…


A myth to guide her journey.
A brother she thought she’d lost.
A ghost to steal her fear.
A man to steal her heart.


An impossible enemy. A hope for freedom. Ena is the only one with a chance of fighting the Guilds—if she can survive long enough to try.

Girl of Glass Series

Two worlds. One glass wall. No turning back.


The human race has been divided. The chosen few live in the safety of the domes, watching through their glass walls as those left on the outside suffer and die. But desperation has brought invention. New drugs have the ability to alter humans, giving them the strength to roam the poisoned night unafraid—but survival comes at a terrible price.


Seventeen-year-old Nola Kent has spent her life in the domes, training to protect her little piece of the world within the glass. The mission of the domes is to preserve the human race, not to help the sick and starving.


When the fate of an outsider child falls into her hands, Nola dares to venture beyond the security of her home, diving into a world of darkness and vampires. Life within the glass didn’t prepare her for the realities of suffering or the depth of forbidden love.

When blood washes over the domes, Nola must choose between her home and her heart.

Girl of Glass.jpg

The Tethering Series

True Tethering.jpg

All he wants is to win her love. A dark spell may separate them forever.

A high school loner in a perfect town—that was Jacob’s life. Until his school was ripped apart by magic. After losing everything, Jacob is thrown into a world of enchantment. But the wonder of being a wizard isn’t enough to hide the danger lurking in the shadows.


Emilia is the heir of her clan, raised to help her people hide right under the humans’ noses. She can’t escape her duty as a witch. But there are some wishes even spells can’t grant.


When fate binds Jacob and Emilia together, war threatens to destroy all they hold dear. Wizards are under attack, and Jacob and Emilia find themselves at the center of a battle that will decide the survival of magic.


Jacob wants to protect Emilia. Emilia has to save the world. Facing an enemy that can shatter their souls, will they find love or be devoured by flames?

The Chronicles of Maggie Trent

Maggie Trent is dead.


At least that what she thinks when she falls out of our world and into the Siren’s Realm.


Her teachers always told her she was bound for trouble. Turns out, they were right.


When a man who’s survived centuries shows Maggie the true wonders of the Siren’s Realm, miraculous magic she’d never dreamt of seems within reach.


But all magic comes with a price, and mysteries lurk beneath the promise of adventure.


With secrets hiding behind every beauty, Maggie can’t tell where the lies begin.

The Girl Without Magic by Megan O'Russel

Can the man who’s shown her wonders be trusted with her life?

Will she be brave enough to protect the one who longs to claim her heart?

Is there a way to break free from the Siren’s Realm?

There’s only one thing Maggie can be certain of: The paradise she found is more dangerous than the world that took her life.

Magic demands sacrifice.

Hope is a fatal vice.

Welcome to the Siren’s Realm.

Four Freakin' Days.jpg

The Tale of Bryant Adams

Not all wizards were born to be heroes.


Things not to do when you find out you’re a wizard:


#1 Do not destroy your apartment with magical fire. You WILL NOT get the security deposit back.


#2 Do not form an alliance with the guy who is trying to murder you. This will end badly.


#3 Do not drag the girl you’re desperately in love with into your wizard mess. You risk her watching you fail miserably.


#4 Under no circumstances should you get in the middle of an epic magical battle. Death will happen. Lots of death and bad things.

Guilds of Ilbrea

Ilbrea: A magnificent country that offers fame to those brave enough to seize their place among the Guilds—no one has worked harder to find their scrap of glory than Adrial Ayres. But being a prodigy and the Lord Scribe’s heir won’t be enough to find the secrets the Guilds would kill to hide. Adrial can’t face the dangers of hidden magic alone…


A sailor with a taste for adventure.
A soldier whose heart has been claimed.
A beauty they will never suspect.
A map maker with secrets of their own.
An inker who will change Adrial’s life forever.


The Guilds offer glory. The truth promises death. Adrial might be the only one who can save Ilbrea—if he can survive the shadows long enough to discover his true enemy.

GUILDS 1 INKER AND CROWN ebook high-res.

Megan Has Been a Guest on the Following Podcasts

Prince Kai Fanpod
Prince Kai Fan Pod
Brown Posey Press Show
YA Book Chat
YA Book Chat
Airs 10.5.2020
We're Only Human
We're Only Human
Style Your Life
Style Your Life
Little Lives in the Suburbs
Little Lives in the Suburbs
Homespun Haints
Homespun Haints
bottom of page